1. The longlist for the Baillie Gifford Prize 2020 is announced.

  2. The 2020 judging panel for the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction includes BBC Radio 4 Today presenter and Chair of the judges Martha Kearney, fellow BBC presenter, professor and author Shahidha Bari, editor and novelist Simon Ings, New Statesman writer Leo Robson, New York Times opinion editor Max Strasser and journalist and author Bee Wilson.

    The prize aims to recognise and reward the best of non-fiction and is open to authors of any nationality who are published in the UK. It covers current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

    The 2020 longlist was announced on Thursday 10 September, with 13 titles eligible for the prize:

    • One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time (Craig Brown)
    • Labours of Love: The Crisis of Care (Madeleine Bunting)
    • Dear Life: A Doctor’s Story of Love and Loss (Rachel Clarke)
    • The Idea of the Brain: A History (Matthew Cobb)
    • Eat the Buddha: The Story of Modern Tibet through the People of One Town (Barbara Demick)
    • The Lives of Lucian Freud: FAME 1968-2011 (William Feaver)
    • Black Spartacus: The Epic Life of Toussaint Louverture (Sudhir Hazareesingh)
    • Our Bodies, Their Battlefield: What War Does to Women (Christina Lamb)
    • Diary of a Young Naturalist (Dara McAnulty)
    • Those Who Forget: One Family’s Story; A Memoir, a History, a Warning (Géraldine Schwarz)
    • Stranger in the Shogun’s City: A Woman’s Life in Nineteenth-Century Japan (Amy Stanley)
    • The Haunting of Alma Fielding: A True Ghost Story (Kate Summerscale)
    • Square Haunting: Five Women, Freedom and London Between the Wars (Francesca Wade)

    The shortlist will be announced on Thursday 15 October, with the winner announcement on Tuesday 24 November. For more information visit The Baillie Gifford Prize.


    Read Smart Podcasts

    Each month a new Read Smart podcast is launched with Razia Iqbal exploring the increasingly popular world of non-fiction books. Hear from prize-winning authors, judges and publishing insiders, as well as hearing from behind the scenes of the 2020 prize.

    In episode 6: Razia is joined by judges, Shahidha Bari, Bee Wilson and Leo Robson to discuss the 13 titles selected for the 2020 longlist. In episode 5: Stig Abell is in conversation with 2019 prize winner Hallie Rubenhold. Earlier episodes explore the art of biography, AI and the world of publishing.

    You can tune into to Read Smart on Apple, Spotify, SoundcloudStitcher and Entale.